The college was established on the 4th August, 1977, by the then Gongola State Government vide edict No. 3 of 1978, to provide courses of study, training and research in arts, languages and the sciences as well as in vocational and technical subjects, leading to the award of the Nigeria College of Education (NCE).

The College took off on the 26th January 1978, on a temporary site at Nukkai Primary School Jalingi . For the purpose of moderation, standardization of examination, courses and syllabus and Professional acceptability, the college was affiliated to Ahmadu Bello University Zaria. In February 1980, the college graduated its first five sets in 1979/80, 1980/81, 1981/82, 1982/83, 1983/84 under the supervision of Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, until 1983, when it was affiliated to the University of Maiduguri.

The College that was affiliated to the University of Maiduguri in 1983, the supervision was taken over by NCCE in 1986; affected all Colleges of Education in the Country.

Our Vision

To be an Institution noted for high quality teacher training through effective and efficient instruction, monitoring, evaluation and appropriate intervention as well as research and the domination of the research findings for the benefit of both the intellectual Community and the general Public.

Our Mission

To provide qualitative teacher education to the citizenry in line with the philosophical ideals of Nigerian education; to contribute meaningfully to the development of human resources through high quality teaching, research, information dissemination and capacity-building practices; to establish and foster among others moral and spiritual values to the citizenry requisite for smooth and stable intellectual and human relations.


1 Mr. Tijani Gwari B.Sc(Ed) Chem 1977-1978
2 Alh. Mustapha Abba B.A(Ed) M.A Hausa 1978-1985
3 Dr. A.B.D. Zaku B.Sc(Ed) M.Sc.(Ed) Ph.D(Chem) 1985-1988
4 Dr. Abubakar Saleh B.A(Hons)Ph.D (Hist) 1988-1993
5 Mr. Dauda Danbeki (AG) NCE, B.Ed, M.Ed Maths 1993-1995
6 Calvin Y. Garba NCE, B.Ed, M.Ed Hausa 1995-1999
7 Mr. Joseph Sule Isa (AG) NCE, B.Sc(Ed), M.Ed July-Nov 1999
8 Alh. Ibrahim H. Lau NCE, B(Ed), SSM(Ed) 1999-2001(sole)
9 Mr. Denis Bajo (AG) Dip. LS, B.LS
10 Mr. Joshua A. Garba NCE, B.Ed, M.Ed Maths 2002-2007
11 Dr. Mohammed Tukur Aliyu B.A, M.A, Ph.D 2007-2008
12 Mr. Joseph Sule Isa NCE, B.Sc(Ed), M.Ed 2008 - 2013
13 Dr Mike Dio Jen NCE, B. ED, M. ED, Ph .D June 2014 - date